Ciclo Maestros

Masters Series: Works by Schubert, Bartók and Enescu

Thursday 9th of May, 2024
Auditorio Sony, Madrid

One of the main assets of the Reina Sofía School is its top level faculty in each area. The School also has an exceptional legacy of great musicians trained in its classrooms.

In this series, the public is offered the possibility of enjoying live performances by the maestros who daily share their talent and experience with our young musicians to develop their full artistic potential, as well as by the great artists who are former students of the School, who are already internationally acclaimed figures.

Violinist Vera Martínez Mehner (member of the Casals Quartet and former student of the School) and pianist Márta Gulyás (teacher of the piano groups department) will perform Enescu's Sonata No. 2 for violin and piano and Bartók's Sonata No. 2 for violin and piano. In addition, together with violist Nobuko Imai (professor of the Fundación BBVA viola chair), cellist Simon Veis (soloist of the Madrid Symphony Orchestra and former student of the School) and and the double bass player Antonio García Araque (soloist of the Orquesta Nacional de España and teacher at the School) will perform Schubert's well-known Quintet with piano known as "The Trout".

Friends of the School can book their tickets in advance. Find more information on the Friends Programme here.

This concert will also be live streamed on our Youtube channel.


    • ENESCU, George
      • Sonata no. 2 for violin and piano in F minor op 6
    • BARTÓK, Béla
      • Sonata no. 2 for violin and piano Sz 76 BB 85